The Department of Psychology is pleased to announce

THE KEVIN HAWLEY MEMORIAL AWARD

Kevin Hawley was a graduate student in our department from 1985-1992 who sadly passed away in 1994 after a long and courageous battle with cancer. Those students fortunate enough to know Kevin, remember him as an exceptional scholar, a warm friend, and an inspiration to all. Kevin was a productive and innovative student with broad academic interests. He was also the type of student who willingly shared his expertise and experience with others. Not only was he regarded as an essential academic resource, but students suffering from school and/or existential angst often solicited Kevin's wise advice, support and humor. Kevin's impact on his fellow students was not, however, limited to the confines of the Behavioral Science Building. In fact, Kevin was probably best known for his numerous extracurricular initiatives. Whether it was instigating hiking or camping excursions, organizing ski trips, or throwing the odd shindig, Kevin always endeavored to make the graduate school a more enjoyable experience for everyone.

As a result of his scholastic excellence, generous service to others, congenial temperament, inspirational fortitude in the face of adversity, and general zest for life, Kevin acquired the utmost respect and gratitude of the entire student population. With this in mind, the annual Kevin Hawley Memorial Award for the most esteemed graduate student as voted on by the graduate student body has been established. Nominees are to be students who, based on their academic excellence, charitable sharing of their time and knowledge, and work towards bettering student morale, are deserving of special recognition from their student peers. The award will be accompanied by a \$1000 professional development prize. Please briefly indicate on the nomination ballot why you believe the student you are nominating should be considered for this award. Ballots are to be returned to Nancy Seegmiller by 5:00 on Wednesday, April 18th. A list of the nominees will be compiled and distributed for a final vote by the graduate student body. Students who will graduate prior to the 2018-2017 academic year or previous winners are not eligible. Previous recipients have included: Tracey Smith (2000), Frances Deviney (2001), Jessi Smith (2002), Ronna Dillinger (2003), Michael Tragakis & David Vago (2004), Tim Fowles (2005), Sarah Heavin (2006), Sonia Matwin & Michelle Skinner (2007), Allison Vaughn (2008), Jonathan Amburgey, Heather Gunn, & Holly Rau (2009), Margaret Tarampi (2010), Jenny Cundiff (2011), Matt Cribbet (2012), Cristina Hudak (2013), Tammy Stump (2014), Laura Graham Holmes (2015), Stacia Bourne & Jonna Turrill (2016), Devin Gill (2017).

My nomination for the Kevin Hawley Memorial Award is

Because: